Your flash player is not up to date. Update Flash.
Josephson & Giaever
c'est froid!
Aimant

Josephson and Giaever

Great Britain, Norway, Canada

Ivar Giaever, crédits AIPBrian Josephson (Great Britain, 1940-) and Ivar Giaever (Norway, 1929-) won the Nobel Prize in 1973 for their contributions linked to the tunnel effect in superconductors. When two superconductors are separated by a small piece of insulating material or by space, the Cooper pairs can “travel” through this barrier if it is thin enough, thanks to the tunnel effect. This effect is well known in metals and enabled the invention of Scanning Tunneling Microscopes.

Ivar Giaever was the first to have the idea of conducting this experiment in superconductors, while he was attending a class on superconductivity. He was able to conduct the experiment at the General Electric Research in Canada, in 1960. He was able to measure the “gap”, this energy of the superconducting condensate theoretically predicted by Bardeen, Cooper and Schrieffer a few years before.

Brian Josephson, crédits AIPAfter Brian Josephson studied Giaever’s experiments, he predicted during his PhD in Cambridge at only 22, that a supercurrent should appear in a tunnel barrier even when no electric field is applied ! Not only does this current called “Josephson current” exist while no electric field is applied, it also curiously depends in a sinusoidal manner on the difference between the superconducting wave phases on both sides of the barrier. He also predicted that when an electric field is continuously applied to this barrier, a new alternative effect appears. These predictions that have since been verified enabled the creation of SQUIDs, which are small ultrasensitive devices using these tunnel barriers and these Josephson currents to detect magnetic fields.

 

CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique
Pied de pagehey ! C'est un bord arrondi ?
c'est froid!
CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique

Votre lecteur Flash n'est pas à jour. Mettre Flash à jour.
Josephson et Giaever
c'est froid!
Aimant

Josephson et Giaever

Grande Bretagne et Norvège

Ivar Giaever, crédits AIPBrian Josephson (Grande Bretagne, 1940-) et Ivar Giaever (Norvège, 1929-) reçoivent le Prix Nobel en 1973 pour leur contributions liées à l’effet tunnel dans les supraconducteurs. Quand on sépare deux supraconducteurs d’une petite tranche d’isolant ou de vide, les paires de Cooper peuvent «voyager » par effet tunnel à travers cette barrière, pour peu qu’elle soit assez fine. Cet effet connu dans les métaux a permis de développer les microscopes à effet tunnel.

Ivar Giaever eut le premier l’idée de réaliser cette expérience dans les supraconducteurs, alors qu’il suivait un cours sur la supraconductivité. Il put mener à bien l’expérience au General Electric Research au Canada, en 1960. Cela lui permit notamment de mesurer le « gap », cette énergie du condensat supraconducteur prédite théoriquement par Bardeen, Cooper et Schrieffer quelques années plus tôt.

Brian Josephson, crédits AIPBrian Josephson, découvrant les expériences de Giaever, calcula durant sa thèse à Cambridge, à l’âge de 22 ans seulement, qu’un supercourant doit apparaître dans une barrière tunnel sans application d’une tension ! Ce courant dit « Josephson » non seulement existe en l’absence de tension électrique, mais en plus, il dépend curieusement sinusoïdalement de la différence entre les phases des ondes supraconductrices de part et d’autre de la barrière. Il put aussi prévoir que, lorsqu’on applique une tension continue à cette barrière, il apparaît cette fois un nouvel effet alternatif. Ces prédictions vérifiées depuis permirent le développement des SQUIDs, des petits dispositifs utilisant ces barrières tunnel et ces courants Josephson pour détecter de façon ultrasensible le champ magnétique.

 

CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique
Pied de pagehey ! C'est un bord arrondi ?
c'est froid!
CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique