Your flash player is not up to date. Update Flash.
London
c'est froid!
Aimant

Fritz London

Poland

AIPBorn in 1900 in Breslau (today Wrocław in Poland), Fritz London studied philosophy before choosing science. After getting a PhD in Munich in 1921, he understood what bonds two hydrogen atoms in a H2 molecule. This work he did with Walter Heitler in Zürich was the starting point for the understanding of chemical bonding. Then he joined Erwin Schrödinger in Berlin but had to leave in 1933 because of the rise of anti-Semitism in Nazi Germany. After a stay in Oxford where he worked on superconductivity with his brother Heinz, he sought refuge at the Institut Henri Poincaré (Paris) in 1936, thanks to a group of intellectuals linked to the Popular Front (Jacques Hadamard, Paul Langevin, Jean Perrin, Frédéric Joliot and Edmond Bauer).

It is at that time, in 1938, that he explained that the superfluidity in liquid helium was a manifestation of Bose-Einstein condensation, a purely quantum phenomenon that could be seen for the first time on a macroscopic scale. This work followed a series of articles about superconductivity that could finally be understood as a superfluidity of charged particles (electron pairs in the case of superconducting metals).

At the beginning of World War II (September 1939), he left France and joined Duke University (USA) where Paul Gross had offered him a professorship in the Chemistry Department and where he felt more comfortable with his wife, the painter Edith London. Einstein wanted the Nobel Prize to be awarded to Fritz London, but London died prematurely in 1954. 

The “London equations” prove that a magnetic field only penetrates the surface of a superconducting material because the absence of collisions between the electrons enables the electricity to be transported with no loss. The “London penetration depth” defines the maximum penetration length of a magnetic field in a superconductor.

According to John Bardeen, one of the creators of the BCS theory of superconductivity, it was Fritz London who made quantum physics take a huge step from the microscopic subatomic scale to the macroscopic world of matter on a human scale.
Since London’s death, the “Fritz London memorial prize” rewards the best works in Low Temperature Physics of Condensed Matter. John Bardeen gave part of his second Nobel Prize to help financing the London Prize.

 


CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique
Pied de pagehey ! C'est un bord arrondi ?
c'est froid!
CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique

Votre lecteur Flash n'est pas à jour. Mettre Flash à jour.
London
c'est froid!
Aimant

Fritz London

Pologne

AIPNé en 1900 à Breslau (aujourd’hui Wroclaw en Pologne), Fritz London fit des études de philosophie avant de se tourner vers la science. Après une thèse de doctorat obtenue à Munich en 1921, il comprit ce qui lie deux atomes d’hydrogène H dans une molécule H2. Ce travail, réalisé avec Walter Heitler à Zürich, marqua le début de la compréhension des liaisons chimiques. Il rejoignit ensuite Erwin Schrödinger à Berlin mais fut chassé de cette ville en 1933 par la montée de l’antisémitisme dans l’Allemagne nazie. Après un passage à Oxford où il travailla sur la supraconductivité avec son frère Heinz, il trouva refuge à l’Institut Henri Poincaré (Paris) en 1936 grâce à un groupe d’intellectuels liés au Front Populaire (Jacques Hadamard, Paul Langevin, Jean Perrin, Frédéric Joliot et Edmond Bauer).

C’est là, début 1938, qu’il proposa de comprendre la superfluidité de l’hélium liquide comme une manifestation de la condensation de Bose-Einstein, un phénomène purement quantique qui devenait ainsi visible à l’échelle macroscopique. Ce travail faisait suite à plusieurs articles sur la supraconductivité qu’on allait comprendre comme une superfluidité de particules chargées (des paires d’électrons dans le cas des métaux supraconducteurs).

Au début de la deuxième guerre mondiale (septembre 1939) il quitta la France pour  l’Université  Duke (États-Unis) où Paul Gross lui avait offert un poste de professeur au Département de Chimie et où il se sentait plus tranquille avec sa femme, la peintre Edith London. Einstein proposa d’attribuer le prix Nobel à  Fritz London mais London mourut prématurément en 1954. 

Les « équations de London » montrent qu’un champ magnétique ne pénètre qu’à la surface d’un matériau  supraconducteur parce que l’absence de collisions entre  électrons permet un transport d’électricité sans pertes.  La « longueur de London » caractérise la distance maximale de pénétration d’un champ magnétique dans un supraconducteur.

Pour John Bardeen, un des auteurs de la théorie BCS de la supraconductivité, c’est Fritz London qui fit faire à la physique quantique le grand saut de l’échelle microscopique des atomes et molécules jusqu’au monde macroscopique de la matière à l’échelle humaine.

Depuis la mort de London, le « Fritz London memorial prize » récompense des travaux remarquables en physique de la matière à basse température. John Bardeen fit don d’une partie de son second prix Nobel pour aider au financement du London prize. 


CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique
Pied de pagehey ! C'est un bord arrondi ?
c'est froid!
CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique