Your flash player is not up to date. Update Flash.
Thermal conduction
c'est froid!
Aimant

Thermal conduction

In a fluid

A little below 2 kelvins, superfluid helium conducts heat better than copper, which is yet an excellent conductor. The reason is that thanks to superfluidity, liquid can easily move from hot zones to cold zones, enabling a thermal conduction by convection, a phenomenon much more efficient than the usual gradual heat diffusion. When you put a saucepan of water on a hotplate, the bottom is hotter than the free surface. Bubbles appear in the bottom, get bigger, get loose and spread over the water: the water is boiling.

However, in superfluid helium, the great thermal conduction requires a very homogeneous temperature everywhere. In the absence of zones hotter than others, the transformation from liquid to vapour can only happen at the free surface where helium evaporates: there are no bubbles. Superfluid helium vaporizes without boiling. This property is visible to the naked eye: when liquid helium is pumped in order to be cooled, the boiling phenomenon disappears at 2.17 K and the quantum order settles whenever the normal liquid becomes superfluid (cf figure below).

JF Allen et JMG Armitage, St Andrews University JF Allen et JMG Armitage, St Andrews University

These two images come from the film "Superfluid Helium" by JF Allen and JMG Armitage (St Andrews University 1982). The above image shows liquid helium at 2.4 K, as the thermometer needle on the left indicates. The bottom image is taken at 2.1 K, below the transition temperature to the superfluid state, and there is no boiling (although it keeps vaporizing).

CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique
Pied de pagehey ! C'est un bord arrondi ?
c'est froid!
CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique

Votre lecteur Flash n'est pas à jour. Mettre Flash à jour.
Conduction thermique
c'est froid!
Aimant

Conduction thermique

Dans un fluide

Un peu en dessous de 2 kelvins, l’hélium superfluide conduit mieux la chaleur que le cuivre, pourtant un excellent conducteur. C’est parce que grâce à la superfluidité, du liquide peut se déplacer facilement des régions chaudes vers les régions froides ce qui permet une conduction thermique par convection, un phénomène beaucoup plus efficace que la diffusion habituelle de la chaleur de proche en proche. Lorsqu’on met une casserole d’eau sur une plaque électrique le fond est plus chaud que la surface libre. Des bulles apparaissent donc au fond et se détachent en grossissant pour envahir toute l’eau en ébullition : l’eau bout. Mais dans l’hélium superfluide la grande conduction thermique impose une température très homogène partout.

En l’absence  de régions plus chaudes que les autres, la transformation du liquide en vapeur ne peut se faire qu’à la surface libre où l’hélium s’évapore : il n’y a pas de bulles. L’hélium superfluide se vaporise sans bouillir. Cette propriété se vérifie à l’œil nu : lorsqu’on pompe sur de l’hélium liquide pour le refroidir, on voit l’ébullition disparaître à 2,17 kelvins et l’ordre quantique s’établir dès que le liquide normal devient superfluide.

Crédits : JF Allen et JMG Armitage, St Andrews University Crédits : JF Allen et JMG Armitage, St Andrews University

L’image de gauche montre de l’hélium liquide à 2,4 kelvins comme l’indique l’aiguille du thermomètre à gauche. Celle de droite est prise à 2,1 kelvins, en dessous de la température de transition vers l’état superfluide, lequel ne bout pas (bien qu’il continue à se vaporiser).

CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique
Pied de pagehey ! C'est un bord arrondi ?
c'est froid!
CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique