Your flash player is not up to date. Update Flash.
Nanofabrication
c'est froid!
Aimant

Nanofabrication

Atomic surgery

CNRS Photothèque / Benoît RAJAU, LPSHow can we build and connect nanometric objects? To make electronic circuits based on metal (superconducting or not), we use stencil techniques: materials are patterned thanks to a nanostencil, a resin mask (Plexiglas actually) the edges of which are drawn with a scanning electron microscope.

A computer drives the electron beam that breaks the resin chains according to the pattern drawn thanks to drawing software (type CAD: Computer-aided design). After the resin is developed (it is plunged in a selective solvent that only dissolves the chains broken by the electrons), we get a mask sitting above a substrate. This mask is then put in a vacuum vessel (cf. picture of a deposition chamber with three vacuum vessels), and when the needed metal is heated, atoms can be fired through the holes of the stencil in order to build the metal circuit. After the mask is dissolved, only the circuit remains, deposited above the substrate.

To connect molecules smaller than a nanometre, a little more imagination is required…

Crédits : CNRS Phototheque, LPS

Deposition chamber with several vacuum vessels to deposit metals and insulators. Thanks to this chamber, we can make nanometric circuits containing superconducting metals (aluminium, niobium, tantalum), non-superconducting metals (copper, gold, platinum, palladium), and Josephson functions thanks to aluminium oxide.

The stencil method for nanolithography :

  1. Electro-sensitive resin (pink) on a substrate (grey).
  2. Zone exposed to the electrons of an electron beam breaking the chains (dark pink).
  3. After being developed in a solvent, the exposed zone is dissolved.
  4. After the metal has been deposited
  5. After dissolution of the resin mask, only the deposited metal circuit remains on the substrate.

For more details, watch IEF/Minerve video 

CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique
Pied de pagehey ! C'est un bord arrondi ?
c'est froid!
CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique

Votre lecteur Flash n'est pas à jour. Mettre Flash à jour.
Nanofabrication
c'est froid!
Aimant

Nanofabrication

Les chirurgiens de la matière

Crédits : CNRS Phototheque / Benoît RAJAU, LPSComment faire et connecter des objets nanométriques ? Pour faire des circuits électroniques à base de métaux (supraconducteurs ou non) on  utilise une technique de type pochoir : on dépose les matériaux à travers un nano-pochoir , un masque en résine (en pratique du plexiglass) dont on a dessiné les contours à l’aide d’un microscope électronique à balayage.

Un ordinateur pilote le faisceau d’électrons qui casse les chaines de la résine selon le motif dessiné dans un logiciel de dessin (de type conception assistée par ordinateur CAO). Après développement de la résine (on la plonge dans un solvant sélectif, qui ne dissout que les chaînes cassées par les électrons), on obtient un masque posé au-dessus d’un substrat. On place ensuite ce masque dans une enceinte à vide (cf photo d’un bâti comportant trois enceintes),  et en chauffant le métal désiré, on peut en envoyer des atomes à travers les ouvertures du pochoir, pour former le circuit métallique. Après dissolution du masque il ne reste plus que le circuit, déposé sur le substrat.

Pour connecter des molécules de taille plus petite que le nanomètre, il faut un peu plus d’imagination…

Crédits : CNRS Phototheque, LPS

Bâti de dépôt comportant plusieurs enceintes sous vide pour le dépôt de métaux et d’isolants. Ce bâti permet la fabrication de circuits nanométriques comportant des métaux supraconducteurs (aluminium, niobium, tantale), non supraconducteurs (cuivre, or, platine, palladium), ainsi que des jonctions Josephson grâce à l’oxyde d’Aluminium.

La méthode du pochoir pour la nanolithographie :

  1. Résine électrosensible (rose) sur un substrat (gris).
  2. Région exposée aux électrons d’un faisceau élecronique qui casse les chaîned (rose foncé).
  3. Après développement dans un solvant la région exposée est dissoute.
  4. Après dépôts de métal
  5. Après dissolution du masque en résine il ne reste plus sur le substrat que le circuit métallique déposé.

Pour une animation sur le sujet, voir : film IEF/Minerve 

CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique
Pied de pagehey ! C'est un bord arrondi ?
c'est froid!
CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique