Your flash player is not up to date. Update Flash.
Quantum computers
c'est froid!
Aimant

Quantum computers

Everything but classical

A possible quantum bit is “the Cooper-pair box”. It consists in a superconducting island (several million cubic nanometres, in aluminium for instance), separated of a superconducting wire by an insulating barrier (tunnel): it is hence a Josephson junction. The quantum variable is the number of superconducting pairs that are attracted in the island by a gate potential placed in front of the island (scheme).

crédits : Physique Mesoscopique, LPS, Orsay

In a classical world, since superconductivity is caused by electron pairs, only a whole number of pairs can be in the island: a pair is either inside the island or outside. However, if the tunnel barrier is wide enough and thanks to the uncertainty principle [PRINCIPE D’INCERTITUDE], a pair can be both inside the island and outside – a superposition of 0s and 1s.

microprocesseur quantique à deux qubits, Groupe Quantronique, CEA SaclayAnother possible quantum bit is composed of a superconducting loop with a Josephson junction inside. This loop carries a supercurrent (a current that does not create heat: since the resistance is equal to zero, there is no Joule effect). This supercurrent can flow in either direction and we can use the direction of the flow to make 0s or 1s (in either direction). In a quantum loop, the current flows in both directions at the same time, meaning we have both 0s and 1s: it is indeed a quantum bit.

Today’s most promising qubits are Josephson oscillators: they are composed of an adjustable Josephson junction (a squid) that behaves as an inductance (a superconducting coil), in parallel with a capacity. The record held by a group of scientists at the University of Santa Barbara in the United Stated is 5 qubits in the same circuit, and in France, 2 entangled qubits that can be both addressed and read (cf. figure of the 2-qubit quantum microprocessor).

The difficult part does not only consists in finding the adequate quantum bits, but also the ways to initialize, address and manipulate them while not exposing them too much to the outside world because they would lose their quantum characteristics.

CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique
Pied de pagehey ! C'est un bord arrondi ?
c'est froid!
CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique

Votre lecteur Flash n'est pas à jour. Mettre Flash à jour.
Ordinateurs quantiques
c'est froid!
Aimant

Ordinateurs quantiques

Tout sauf classiques

Un bit quantique possible est « la boîte à paire de Cooper ». Il s’agit d’un îlot supraconducteur (quelque millions de nanomètres cube, par exemple en aluminium), séparé d’un fil supraconducteur par une barrière isolante (tunnel) : c’est donc une jonction Josephson. La variable quantique est le nombre de paires supraconductrices qu’on attire dans l’îlot par un potentiel de grille placé en face de l’îlot.

crédits : Physique Mesoscopique, LPS, Orsay

Dans un monde classique, comme la supraconductivité est due à des paires d’électrons, ce sont un nombre entier de paires qui peuvent se trouver dans l’îlot : une paire est soit dans l’île soit en dehors de l’île. Mais si la barrière tunnel est suffisamment passante, grâce au principe d’incertitude il est possible qu’une paire soit à la fois dans l’île et à l’extérieur de l’île, une superposition de 0 et 1.

crédits : Groupe Quantronique, CEA SaclayUn autre bit quantique possible est constitué d’une boucle supraconductrice avec une jonction Josephson en son sein. Cette boucle transporte un supercourant (un courant qui ne chauffe pas car la résistance étant nulle, il n’y a pas d’effet Joule). Ce supercourant peut circuler dans un sens  ou dans l’autre, et on peut donc se servir de la direction de circulation pour faire des  0 ou des 1 (dans un sens ou dans l’autre). Dans une boucle quantique, le courant circule dans les deux sens à la fois donc on a à la fois des 0 et des 1 : c’est un bit quantique.

Les qubits les plus prometteurs actuellement sont des oscillateurs Josephson : ils sont composés d’une jonction Josephson réglable (un squid), qui se comporte comme une inductance (une bobine supraconductrice), en parallèle avec une capacité.  Le record réalisé par un groupe de l’Université de Santa Barbara aux Etats-Unis est de 5 qubits dans le même circuit, ou en France deux qubits intriqués que l’on peut à la fois adresser et lire (voir figure du microprocesseur quantique à deux qubits).

La difficulté n’est pas seulement de trouver les bons bits quantiques, mais également des façons de les initialiser, adresser, et de les manipuler tout en ne les couplant pas trop au monde extérieur car ils perdraient alors leur caractère quantique…

CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique
Pied de pagehey ! C'est un bord arrondi ?
c'est froid!
CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique