Your flash player is not up to date. Update Flash.
Magnetism
c'est froid!
    Aimant

    Magnetism

    Brief summary

    The magnetic field of the earth is well known, with a North Pole and a South Pole directing compasses. Magnets also produce magnetic fields and also have poles. The value of a magnetic field is measured in teslas or in gauss, a tesla corresponding to ten thousand gauss. In Paris for instance, the earth’s magnetic field is equal to about half a gauss, less than a ten millionth tesla. On the surface of a NdFeB magnet (made from an alloy of neodymium, iron and boron) such as the ones used in the levitation videos, the magnetic field is equal to 1 tesla. But when you move away from the magnet, the magnetic field strongly decreases and is only equal to a hundredth tesla a few centimetres away from the magnet. The bigger the magnet, the slower the magnetic field decreases when moving away from the magnet.

    Effect of a magnet on some magnetic iron powderThe magnetism of the magnet comes from its electrons. An electron carries a very small quantum magnet called “spin”. If the electron spins in a material line up parallel to each other, the effect of all these small magnets add up to create an actual magnet. Some materials are not magnets but they cling to magnets, such as steel or iron. These materials are “magnetic”. This phenomenon happens because inside these materials, there are also parallel spins like in an actual magnet, but they are divided in domains. Since these domains are not parallel, the total magnetization is equal to zero. However, when you bring a magnet close to this magnetic material, all the domains become parallel to one another and parallel to the magnet, and the material also becomes a magnet.

    In non-magnetic materials, such as noble metals for instance, or the human body, there is nothing of the sort: they do not become magnets when a magnet is brought close to them, neither do they cling to the magnet. Superconductors are not magnets and are generally not magnetic, except in some very particular cases that physicists are still working on.

    Effect of a magnetic field created by a magnet on a liquid with magnetic properties, a « ferrofluid » , J. Bobroff, LPSIn order to produce a magnetic field, you can also use inductor coil made of a metal wire in which you apply an electric current. This current will induce a magnetic field perpendicular to the coil. Superconductors can be used to make such coils, hence producing magnetic fields even higher than the best magnets. This is how MRI coils work in hospitals, with a magnetic field of about 1 tesla. In laboratories, it is now possible to create magnetic fields up to a couple dozens teslas.

     

    CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique
    Pied de pagehey ! C'est un bord arrondi ?
    c'est froid!
    CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique

Votre lecteur Flash n'est pas à jour. Mettre Flash à jour.
Magnétisme
c'est froid!
    Aimant

    Le magnétisme

    Une propriété liée

    Le champ magnétique de la Terre est bien connu, avec un pôle Nord et un pôle Sud qui orientent les boussoles. De même, les aimants produisent eux aussi des champs magnétiques et possèdent des pôles. On mesure la valeur d’un champ magnétique en teslas ou en gauss, sachant qu’un tesla vaut dix mille gauss. À Paris par exemple, le champ terrestre est de l’ordre d’un demi gauss, soit moins d’un dix millième de tesla. À la surface d’un aimant en Néodyme-Fer-Bore comme ceux utilisés dans les petites vidéos de lévitation, le champ vaut 1 tesla. Par contre, dès qu’on s’écarte de l’aimant, le champ décroît fortement, et ne vaut plus qu’un centième de tesla à quelques centimètres de l’aimant. Plus l’aimant est grand, moins vite le champ décroit quand on s’en écarte.

    Effet d’un aimant sur de la limaille de fer magnétiqueL’aimant tire son magnétisme de ses électrons. Un électron porte en effet lui même un tout petit aimant quantique, appelé spin. Si les spins de certains électrons dans un matériau s’alignent tous parallèlement, l’effet de tous ces petits aimants s’ajoute et on obtient un vrai aimant. Certains matériaux ne sont pas des aimants mais se collent aux aimants, comme l’acier ou le fer. On les appelle « magnétiques ». Cela vient de ce qu’au cœur de ces matériaux, il y a là aussi des spins parallèles comme dans un vrai aimant, mais seulement par domaines. Les domaines n’étant pas parallèles entre eux, l’aimantation totale est nulle. Par contre, quand on approche un aimant de ce matériau magnétique, tous les domaines se remettent parallèles entre eux et parallèles à l’aimant, et le matériau devient à son tour un aimant.

    Dans les matériaux non magnétiques, comme par exemple les métaux nobles, ou encore le corps humain, rien de tel : ils ne deviennent pas des aimants eux mêmes quand on approche un aimant, et ne collent donc pas à l’aimant. Les supraconducteurs ne sont pas des aimants et ne sont pas magnétiques en général, sauf dans certains cas très particuliers au cœur des recherches actuelles.

    Effet du champ magnétique créé par un aimant sur un liquide aux propriétés magnétiques, un « ferrofluide », J. Bobroff, LPSPour produire un champ magnétique, on peut aussi utiliser une bobine de fil métallique dans laquelle on fait passer un courant électrique. Ce courant va induire un champ magnétique orienté perpendiculairement à la bobine. Les supraconducteurs peuvent servir à faire de telles bobines et à produire ainsi des champs magnétiques encore plus élevés que les meilleurs des aimants. C’est ainsi par exemple que fonctionnent les bobines d’IRM d’hôpital, où le champ vaut 1 tesla. On sait actuellement faire des champs magnétiques jusqu’à plusieurs dizaines de teslas en laboratoire.

     

    CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique
    Pied de pagehey ! C'est un bord arrondi ?
    c'est froid!
    CNRSSociété Française de PhysiqueTriangle de la physique